Arctic Monkeys

The Arctic Monkeys, otherwise known as the Death Ramps, are a British indie rock band formed in 2002 in Sheffield, England. The band consists of Alex Turner (lead vocalist, songwriter, electric and rhythm guitarist), Jamie Cook (electric and rhythm guitarist, songwriter), Matt Helders (percussionist, backing vocalist) and Nick O'Malley (bassist, backing vocalist). A former member, Andy Nicholson (also a bassist and backing vocalist) left the band shortly after the release of the band's debut album and before Nick took his position to patch the line-up.

They have released five of their studio albums: Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not (2006), Favorite Worst Nightmare (2007), Humbug (2009), Suck It And See (2011) and AM (2013). Their debut album was the fastest-selling album in British music history. In addition, it received critical acclaim, and won both 2006 Mercury Prize and 2007 Brit Award for "Best British Album". Their second album sold 225,000 copies in its debut week, and was nominated for 2007 Mercury Prize. Furthermore, Arctic Monkeys have won 38 awards overall and received 88 total nominations. They made history by becoming the first band to win both NME's "Best New Band" and "Best British Band" in the same night of 2006.

According to Alex Turner during one of his interviews, he thought the band's name, Arctic Monkeys was pretty stupid, and Jamie Cook was the one who came up with that name.

Contributors: TheRegular1227
Version History:

Lists Featuring Arctic Monkeys

Top Ten Best Indie Rock Bands Best British Indie Bands
Best British Bands of the 21st Century Best Alternative Bands of All Time
Best Rock Bands of the 2000s Best Bands from the UK
Top 10 Best Modern Rock Bands Best Rock Bands of All Time
Best Alternative / Indie Rock Bands of the 21st Century Music Artists You'd Like to Perform at the 2012 London Olympics Opening Ceremonies

Related Lists

Best Songs from Arctic Monkeys's Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not