Top Ten Countries in Which Atheism is Punishable by Death

Even today, even some countries with a developed or developing integration into modern society, can legally kill you for your beliefs, despite some of their claims to promote peace and equality.

The Top Ten

1 Malaysia Malaysia Malaysia is a Southeast Asian country occupying the Malaysian Peninsula and part of the island of Borneo. It's known for its beaches, rain forests and mix of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences. The sprawling capital, Kuala Lumpur, is home to colonial buildings, busy shopping districts such more.

I have been to Malaysia, and it really is full of amazing culture, history, landscapes, and very friendly people. It was a beautiful country. Little did I know when I was there what they could do to me if I merely mentioned the fact that I'm an atheist. It really strikes me that this jump from respecting someone as any ordinary person to having them executed by law is possible in this peaceful and friendly society. - PositronWildhawk

People must learn to respect atheists - Neonco31

Well, I'm screwed... - ARandomPerson

As an atheist, thank nothing I was born and raised in the US.

V 6 Comments
2 Iran Iran Iran, also known as Persia, officially the Islamic Republic of Iran, is a sovereign state in Western Asia. The capital city is Teheran and the major city is also Tehran. The country's official language is Persian. more.

Iran tolerates no belief other than Islam - Neonco31

Christianity, and other religion who aren't muslim are killed in this country

If you're a christian you're also killed in this country

In iran they just believe islam
If not you're killed

3 Nigeria Nigeria Nigeria, an African country on the Gulf of Guinea, has many natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Protected areas such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park have waterfalls, dense rainforest, savanna and rare primate habitats. One of the most recognizable sites is Zuma Rock, a 725m-tall more.

Only in the north

Atheists will go to hell a lot quicker if they visit this country - DoroExploro13

4 United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates The United Arab Emirates, sometimes simply called the Emirates or the UAE, is a country located at the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar and Iran.
5 Pakistan Pakistan Pakistan was established in 1947 and is located in South Asia. Islamabad is the capital city of Pakistan and is known as the world's second most beautiful capital city. Karachi, Lahore and Peshawar are other major cities of Pakistan. Urdu and English are official languages of Pakistan. World's second more.

But why is it a crime? - TwilightKitsune

It isn't, it's fine to be an atheist. How was this comment disliked? - Skullkid755

6 Maldives Maldives Maldives, officially the Republic of Maldives, is an island country and archipelago in the Indian Ocean.
7 Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia, officially known as the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, is an Arab state in Western Asia (Middle east) constituting the bulk of the Arabian Peninsula. The official Language is Arabic The capital city is Riyadh.
8 Afghanistan Afghanistan Afghanistan, officially the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, is a landlocked country located within South Asia and Central Asia.

Interesting list. Didn't know so many countries were harsh on people's beliefs. - Swellow

9 Yemen Yemen Yemen, officially known as the Republic of Yemen, is an Arab country in Western Asia, occupying the southwestern to the southern end of the Arabian Peninsula.
10 Qatar Qatar Qatar, officially the State of Qatar, is a sovereign country located in Southwest Asia, occupying the small Qatar Peninsula on the northeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula.

I think I am going to skip the 2020 World Cup. I want to keep my head. - TheStargazer

The Contenders

11 Somalia Somalia
12 Mauritania Mauritania Mauritania, officially the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, is a country in the Maghreb region of western North Africa.
13 Sudan Sudan
BAdd New Item