Top 10 Metal Supergroups

A SUPERGROUP is a band where the members already have successful music careers

The Top Ten

1 Down Down Down is an American heavy metal supergroup that formed in 1991 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The band's current lineup consists of vocalist Phil Anselmo, guitarist Pepper Keenan, guitarist Bobby Landgraf, bassist Pat Bruders, and drummer Jimmy Bower.

Southern/Sludge Metal outfit

Vocals - Phil Anselmo (Pantera)
Guitar - Pepper Keenan (Corrosion of Conformity)
Bass - Todd Strange (Crowbar)
Drums - Jimmy Bower (Eyehategod) - ryanrimmel

Vocals - Phil Anselmo (Pantera)
Heavy Metal/Sludge Metal

Guitar - Pepper Keenan (Corrosion of Conformity)
Guitar - Kirk Windstein (Crowbar)
Bass - Todd Strange (Crowbar)
Drums - Jimmy Bower (Crowbar, Eyehategod, Superjoint Ritual) - ryanrimmel

2 Liquid Tension Experiment Liquid Tension Experiment Liquid Tension Experiment was an instrumental progressive metal band founded by Mike Portnoy, then Dream Theater's drummer, in 1997. The band has released two albums through Magna Carta Records.

Progressive Metal

Vocals/Bass - Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel)
Guitar - John Petrucci (Dream Theater)
Keyboards - Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater)
Drums - Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater) - ryanrimmel

3 Cavalera Conspiracy Cavalera Conspiracy Cavalera Conspiracy is an American heavy metal band founded by Brazilian brothers Max and Igor Cavalera, currently performing along with American musicians Marc Rizzo and Johny Chow.

I don't see any united states born musician here

Groove Metal

Guitar/Vocals - Max Cavalera (Sepultura, Soulfly)
Bass/Vocals - Joe Duplantier (Gojira)
Guitar - Marc Rizzo (Ill Niño, Soulfly)
Drums - Igor Cavalera (Sepultura) - ryanrimmel

Groove Metal

Vocals/Guitar - Max Cavalera (Sepultura, Soulfly)
Guitar - Marc Rizzo (Ill Niño, Soulfly)
Bass - Joe Duplantier (Gojira)
Drums - Igor Cavalera (Sepultura) - ryanrimmel

4 Demons & Wizards Demons & Wizards Demons and Wizards is a power metal band conceived as a side-project by vocalist for Blind Guardian, Hansi Kürsch, and the guitarist for Iced Earth, Jon Schaffer.

Power Metal

Vocals - Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian)
Guitar - Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth)
Bass - Rubin Drake
Drums - Bobby Jarzombek (Fates Warning) - ryanrimmel

Subgenre - Power Metal/ Prog Power Metal
Vox, lyrics: Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian)
Guitars, composer: Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth)
Bass - Rubin Drake
Drums: Bobby Jarzombek (Halford, Fates Warning, Riot).
They released only 2 albums but they are awesome (promised to do more). - Metal_Treasure

5 Bloodbath Bloodbath Bloodbath is a Swedish death metal supergroup from Stockholm, formed in 1998. The band has released four full-length albums, two EPs and two DVDs depicting their performances at Wacken Open Air and Bloodstock Open Air.

This born cavalera conspiracy.

Death Metal

Vocals - Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth, Katatonia)
Guitar - Anders Nyström (Katatonia, Diabolical Masquerade)
Bass - Jonas Renkse (Katatonia)
Drums - Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity) - ryanrimmel

Death Metal

Vocals - Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth, Katatonia)
Guitar - Anders "Blakkheim" Nyström (Katatonia)
Bass - Jonas Renkse (Katatonia)
Drums - Martin "Axe" Axenrot (Opeth) - ryanrimmel

6 Heaven and Hell Heaven and Hell

All these people are legends but it's not a typical supergroup - it's just Dio era Black Sabbath reunion. - Metal_Treasure

Traditional Heavy Metal

Vocals - Ronnie James Dio (Elf, Rainbow, Black Sabbath, Dio)
Guitar - Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath)
Bass - Geezer Butler (Black Sabbath)
Drums - Vinny Appice (Black Sabbath, Dio) - ryanrimmel

7 Unisonic Unisonic
8 Avantasia Avantasia Avantasia is a German supergroup rock opera project created by Tobias Sammet, vocalist of the band Edguy.

Symphonic Metal/Progressive Metal/Power Metal

Vocals/Bass - Tobias Sammet (Edguy)
Guitar - Sascha Paeth (Gamma Ray, Rhapsody, Kamelot, Epica)
Keyboards - Miro (Rhapsody, Kamelot)
Drums - Eric Singer (Kiss) - ryanrimmel

Progressive/Symphonic Metal

Bass/Vocals - Tobias Sammet (Edguy)
Guitar - Henjo Richter (Gamma Ray)
Drums - Alex Holzwarth (Rhapsody of Fire)
Keyboards - Miro (Rhapsody of Fire, Kamelot) - ryanrimmel

9 Ayreon

The Contenders

11 Hellyeah Hellyeah Hellyeah is an American heavy metal supergroup, consisting of Mudvayne vocalist Chad Gray, former Nothingface guitarist Tom Maxwell, bass player Kyle Sanders, guitarist Christian Brady and former Pantera and Damageplan drummer Vinnie Paul. V 2 Comments
12 Superjoint Ritual Superjoint Ritual Superjoint, previously Superjoint Ritual, is an American metal band formed by Phil Anselmo, Joe Fazzio, and Jimmy Bower in the early 1990s, later to be joined by Hank Williams III, and Kevin Bond.
13 Northern Kings V 1 Comment
14 Allen/Lande project

Mostly melodic metal - ballads and slow epic songs.

Vox: Russell Allen (Symphony X) and Jorn Lande (Avantasia, Ark, MasterPlan)
Guitars: Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear), Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius)
Songwriter, producer: Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear) - Metal_Treasure

15 WhoCares

Formed by Ian Gillan of Deep Purple and Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath in 2011 as a charity project to raise money to rebuild a music school in Gyumri, Armenia after the destruction of the city in the 1988 earthquake in Armenia. The album sold more than 20,000 copies in Europe.
Members: Ian Gillan, Tony Iommi, Jon Lord, Jason Newsted, Nicko McBrain, Mikko "Linde" Lindström - Metal_Treasure

16 Voodoocult
17 Nailbomb
18 Blotted Science Blotted Science
19 Serpentine Dominion
BAdd New Item

Recommended Lists

Related Lists

Top 10 Metal Songs by Supergroups Top Ten Nu Metal Supergroups and Side Projects Best Metal Bands Best Metal Songs Best Metal Guitarists

List Stats

19 listings
2 years, 207 days old

Top Remixes

1. Heaven and Hell
2. Down
3. Liquid Tension Experiment
1. Down
2. Heaven and Hell
3. Cavalera Conspiracy
1. Demons & Wizards
2. Ayreon
3. Liquid Tension Experiment



Add Post

Error Reporting

See a factual error in these listings? Report it here.