Best Richard Matheson Novels

This list compiles the greatest novels ever written by horror, science-fiction, and fantasy novelist, Richard Matheson (1926 - 2013).

The Top Ten

1 I Am Legend

This 1954 novel has been adapted into movies four times. The movies, The Last Man on Earth (1964), The Omega Man (1971), I Am Omega (2007), and I Am Legend (2007) were all based primarily on this work. - BKAllmighty

2 What Dreams May Come

This 1978 novel was adapted into the 1998 fantasy-drama film of the same name which starred Robin Williams, and Cuba Gooding Jr.. - BKAllmighty

3 Hell House

The 1973 film 'The Legend of Hell House' was based on the 1971 novel. - BKAllmighty

4 The Shrinking Man

The movies 'The Incredible Shrinking Man' (1957) and 'The Incredible Shrinking Woman' (1981) were both based on this 1956 novel. Future editions of the book would go on to use the same title as the 1957 film. - BKAllmighty

5 Bid Time Return

The 1975 sci-fi novel was made into the 1980 film, 'Somewhere in Time'. The book would go on to use the movie's title for subsequent editions of the book. - BKAllmighty

6 The Beardless Warriors

An adaptation of this book was made in 1966 under the title, 'The Young Warriors'. However, much of the book's plot was ultimately changed for the movie. - BKAllmighty

7 The Path: A New Look At Reality

Fans of Matheson's 'What Dreams May Come' will likely highly regard this 1993 novel. - BKAllmighty

8 7 Steps to Midnight
9 A Stir of Echoes

The 1999 film, 'Stir of Echoes' starring Kevin Bacon, was loosely based on this 1958 novel. - BKAllmighty

10 Hunger and Thirst
BAdd New Item