Best Songs on Ayreon's 01011001

01011001 is the seventh studio album by Ayreon - Arjen Lucassen's long-running project.
"01011001" is the binary representation of the ASCII value of the letter Y.

This is a concept about a race of aquatic beings living on Planet Y. They have advanced to the point that they have become completely dependent on machines and are losing their emotions.

Genre: Progressive rock
It was released in 2008: CD 1 - "Y", CD 2 - "Earth"

Seventeen singers in total (including Lucassen himself) contributed to the album (most of them are metal singers) - Hansi Kürsch, Daniel Gildenlöw, Floor Jansen, Jørn Lande, Simone Simons, Jonas Renkse, Anneke van Giersbergen, Steve Lee, Tom Englund, and more.

The album was a commercial and critical success.

The Top Ten

1 Age of Shadows

The Allmusic reviewer wrote about this album "Music this over the top almost defies criticism. Reviewing it is like reviewing the world's tallest building. It doesn't care; it just goes on and on." - Metal_Treasure

It's 10:47 min long and 8 metal singers sing it (in order of appearance):
Tom Englund, Steve Lee, Daniel Gildenlöw, Hansi Kürsch, Floor Jansen, Jonas Renkse, Anneke van Giersbergen, Jørn Lande.

In addition, the chorus is very unique because they used again the binary ASCII code and part of the chorus means HELP:
"zero (one) one (one) zero (zero) zero (zero)
off (on) on (off) off (on) on (off)

..." - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
2 The Sixth Extinction

It's the longest song on the album (12:18).
Vox in order of appearance:
Englund, Lee, Kürsch, Gildenlöw, Jansen, Renkse, Catley, Lande, van Giersbergen - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
3 Beneath the Waves

A relatively soft song but sounds epic (8:26)
Vox in order of appearance:
Gildenlöw, Catley, van Giersbergen, Jansen, Lee, Lande, Kürsch, Englund - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
4 Liquid Eternity

Vox in order of appearance:
Renkse, Gildenlöw, Magali Luyten, Bob Catley, Englund, Lande, Jansen - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
5 The Fifth Extinction

This is one of the longest songs on the album (10:29)
Vox in order of appearance:
van Giersbergen, Catley, Lee, Lande, Englund, Gildenlöw, Kürsch, Renkse, Jansen - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
6 Ride the Comet

A shorter song (3:29) that is probably the most energetic track on the album.
Vox in order of appearance:
Lande, Jansen, Englund, Renkse, Catley, Luyten - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
7 River of Time

A soft folkish song with interesting orchestration (violins, flutes, etc).
a duet of Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian) and Bob Catley (Magnum) - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
8 Waking Dreams

This one has some of the softest and most beautiful vocals.
Jonas Renkse, Anneke van Giersbergen - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
9 E=Mc2 UListen to Sample
10 Comatose

Vox: Anneke van Giersbergen, Jorn Lande
A soft song with a very beautiful duet. At times Jorn Lande sounds like the melancholy David Coverdale (Whitesnake, ex-Deep Purple) - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample

The Contenders

11 Newborn Race

Vox: Gildenlöw, Jansen, Englund, Renkse, Catley, Kürsch, Lande - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
12 Unnatural Selection

Vox: Englund, Lee, Lande, Catley, Kürsch, Renkse - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
13 The Truth is in Here UListen to Sample
14 Connect the Dots

Vox: Ty Tabor, Arjen Lucassen - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
15 Web of Lies

Vox: Simone Simons, Phideaux Xavier - Metal_Treasure

UListen to Sample
BAdd New Item

Related Lists

Top Ten Songs from Ayreon's The Human Equation Best Ayreon Songs Best Ayreon Albums Best Songs of All Time Best Metallica Songs

List Stats

15 listings
1 year, 330 days old

Top Remixes

1. The Sixth Extinction
2. Age of Shadows
3. The Fifth Extinction
1. Age of Shadows
2. The Sixth Extinction
3. Liquid Eternity


Error Reporting

See a factual error in these listings? Report it here.