Best Songs from Deep Purple's Bananas

Bananas is the 17th studio album by English rock band Deep Purple, released on 9 September 2003 via EMI Records and on 7 October 2003 via Sanctuary Records in the USA.

This is the first Deep Purple album to feature Don Airey on the keyboards, replacing founding member Jon Lord, who left the band in 2002 to retire.

The album was recorded in Los Angeles during January and February 2003. It is also notable as being the only Ian Gillan -fronted Deep Purple album which makes use of backing vocals other than Gillan's own, with the song "Haunted" featuring Beth Hart.

Genre: Hard Rock


Deep Purple:

Ian Gillan – lead vocals

Steve Morse – guitar, backing vocals

Don Airey – keyboards

Roger Glover – bass

Ian Paice – drums

Additional musicians:

Paul Buckmaster – string arrangement and cello on "Haunted"

Beth Hart – backing vocals on "Haunted"

Michael Bradford – guitar on "Walk On"

Michael Bradford - producer, engineer

Chris Wonzer - assistante engineer

Andy Vandette - mastering at Masterdisk, New York

The Top Ten

1 Haunted
2 House of Pain
3 Contact Lost Contact Lost Cover Art
4 Picture of Innocence
5 Bananas
6 Sun Goes Down Sun Goes Down Cover Art
7 Walk On
8 Razzle Dazzle
9 Silver Tongue
10 I Got Your Number

The Contenders

11 Doing It Tonight
12 Never a Word
BAdd New Item