Top 10 Songs on Into Eternity's The Incurable Tragedy

The Incurable Tragedy is the 5th full-length studio album by Canadian metal band Into Eternity, released in 2008.

Stu Block is the lead vocalist - he later became known as the singer for American band Iced Earth (since 2011).

Iced Earth fans may be surprised that Stu Block was a death metal growler - for this album he provides both clean and death vocals, and he does both very well. Most of the songs are with mixed types of vocals and Stu switches frequently from clean to death vocals and vice versa. I love this frequent change of vocal styles within one song. It's like the contrast of "hot and cold showers" used in hydrotherapy.

Into Eternity have played several metal subgenres but this album is mostly Melodic and Progressive death metal.

The Incurable Tragedy is a concept album about the struggles of a man who is diagnosed with cancer. The concept was inspired by the deaths of 3 people close to guitarist and songwriter Tim Roth - his father and two best friends.

The Top Ten

1 Tides of Blood

This song is often described as "pummeling speed bruiser" and I can see why. I love it start to finish.
And vocals are amazing - both clean and death vocals. Stu Block, dear fans of Iced Earth, is a very versatile singer and his vocals abilities are more phenomenal than you may conclude based only on the Iced Earth songs.
Play the song sample below - within 30 seconds you can hear 3 vocal styles by him. - Metal_Treasure

2 Time Immemorial
3 Indignation
4 A Black Light Ending
5 Diagnosis Terminal
6 One Funeral Hymn for Three
7 The Incurable Tragedy II (November 10, 2006)

A soft proggy song with neo-classical influences. - Metal_Treasure

8 Spent Years of Regret
9 The Incurable Tragedy III (December 15, 2006)

It's the closing track, a 2:20 min instrumental. It has no lyrics but thanks to the music and sounds in it, you can understand that the patient is dead. - Metal_Treasure

10 Symptoms

It's a short instrumental song (only 1:48 minutes) but I like it. - Metal_Treasure

The Contenders

11 The Incurable Tragedy I (September 21, 2006)
12 Prelude to Woe

A short intro song to the album, instrumental (0:55) - Metal_Treasure

BAdd New Item