Best Songs on Savatage's Power of the Night

Power of the Night is the 2nd studio album by Savatage and was released on May 20th 1985 through Atlantic Records. This album was produced by the hot producer at the time, Max Norman who became better known as the producer for Megadeth's 1992 hit album Countdown to Extinction. This album was recorded at Bearsville Studios in Bearsville, New York in the United States. The record was not originally pressed with a Parental Advisory sticker on the cover. However, Atlantic Records did have a problem with some of the sexual metaphors mentioned in "Hard for Love" and "Skull Session." It was also a marketing ploy to encourage more people to buy the record as a result of it being "banned" by some outlets. This was bassist Keith Collins's last album with the band. Jon and Criss Oliva were not completely happy with Collins' playing and corrected some of his mistakes for the final version. Collins was replaced by Johnny Lee Middleton in 1986

Genres: Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, Power Metal


Band Members:

Jon Oliva – lead vocals & keyboards

Criss Oliva – guitars

Keith Collins – bass guitar

Steve Wacholz – drums


Production Max Norman - producer,

Ken Lonas - assistant engineer

The Top Ten

1 Washed Out

Love their speed metal songs from their early albums. - Metal_Treasure

2 Power of the Night
3 In the Dream
4 Warriors
5 Skull Session
6 Fountain of Youth
7 Unusual
8 Necrophilia
9 Stuck On You
10 Hard for Love
BAdd New Item

Recommended Lists