Best Songs from Savatage's the Wake of Magellan

The Wake of Magellan is the 10th studio album by Savatage and was released through Atlantic Records on September 15th, 1997 for Europe and Japan and on April 7th, 1998 for the United States. The album is a concept album and is based on two real life events. The first, the Maersk Dubai incident, occurred less than a year before this album was released when the captain of a freighter threw three Romanian stowaways overboard in the middle of the Atlantic. A fourth stowaway was saved by the courageous action of a deckhand, who risked his own life to protect the youth. The second event regarded the Irish reporter Veronica Guerin who died fighting the growth of the drug trade in her country. Her death may accomplish what she could not in life. These events are combined into the story of an old Spanish sailor, who has decided to end his life by sailing his small boat out into the Atlantic until it sinks. In his mind he has romanticized this decision as a glorious, Vikingesque way to die. When the ocean winds push him into a great storm, and he believes that his wish is about to be granted in a great dramatic fashion, he suddenly sees a man drowning in the ocean. In an instant he finds himself taking back every wish for death's embrace, and fights to save this soul. After many twists and turns, he is able to save the stowaway that had been thrown overboard. Returning to land, he now realizes that not only every life is precious but also every hour of that life. This is the first Savatage album to have the same line up as the previous album since Hall of the Mountain King in 1987. This is also the last Savatage album to feature vocals from lead singer Zachary Stevens. Dream Theater are also thanked in the album's liner notes.

Genres: Progressive Metal, Symphonic Metal

Zachary Stevens – lead vocals

Jon Oliva – lead vocals (featured on "Another Way" and "Paragons of Innocence"), keyboards

Chris Caffery – guitars, backing vocals

Al Pitrelli – guitars, backing vocals

Johnny Lee Middleton – bass guitar, backing vocals

Jeff Plate – drums

Paul O'Neill - producer

All lyrics and poetry by Paul O'Neill and Jon Oliva.

The Top Ten

1 The Wake of Magellan
2 The Storm
3 Paragons of Innocence
4 The Hourglass
5 Turns to Me
6 Blackjack Guillotine
7 Morning Sun
8 Another Way
9 Welcome
10 Complaint in the System

The Contenders

11 Anymore
12 Underture
13 The Ocean
BAdd New Item