Most Underrated Books and Book Series

The Top Ten

1 Lumatere Chronicles - Melina Marchetta Lumatere Chronicles - Melina Marchetta Product Image

No one really ever reads it. The author, Melina Marchetta is probably the most underrated author of the decade. The lumatere is the greatest historical book in my opinion. Great plot, characters and settings.

2 Evil Genius Series - Catherine Jinks Evil Genius Series - Catherine Jinks Product Image

A great book trilogy, just behind the Artemis Fowl series. It's nerve-wracking, has lots of plot-twists and no grammatical or spelling errors.
By: Catherine Jinks

3 The Joy Luck Club - Amy Tan The Joy Luck Club - Amy Tan Product Image

A classic of Chinese American literature that deserves much more acclaim than it has currently

4 Snow Flower and the Secret Fan - Lisa See Snow Flower and the Secret Fan - Lisa See Product Image

A beautiful and moving story of Chinese women's struggle with social class

5 Replica Series - Marilyn Kaye

A great series even if it is a tad bit short. It portrays the evil behind school doors and how cloning is possible. I started reading it when I was in 5th year and I only remembered it now.
By: Marilyn Kaye

6 The Woman Warrior - Maxine Hong Kingston The Woman Warrior - Maxine Hong Kingston Product Image

A classic of Chinese American literature about Asian and female identity

7 Starcrossed Series - Josephine Angelini Starcrossed Series - Josephine Angelini Product Image

I think its underrated. I never saw it in trailers, and very little read them. This is the 3rd greek mythology-based book I've read and its really good. Highly recommended for teens and up.
By: Josephine Angelini

It's wonderful! Truly underrated... I should be read

8 On Gold Mountain - Lisa See On Gold Mountain - Lisa See Product Image

A perfect autobiography that illustrates the hardships that Chinese Americans faced

9 Time of the Eagle - Sheryl Jordan

Admit it, this book is not very famous. The reviewers only reviewed this book because the author previously wrote an award-winning book. Thankfully, some of the goodreaders have read this book and approved.
By: Sheryl Jordan

10 Tripmaster Monkey - Maxine Hong Kingston Tripmaster Monkey - Maxine Hong Kingston Product Image

An overhated story of a Chinese American's romance with a white woman

The Contenders

11 Peony in Love - Lisa See Peony in Love - Lisa See Product Image

A tragic and moving story of crushed hopes and death

12 Cassidy Jones Series - Elise Stokes Cassidy Jones Series - Elise Stokes Product Image

I absolutely love this book. When I first started using Kindle, the first thing that came up on the free section is this book so I started reading it. I found it very highly entertaining and I can't believe that its free even though its great. A debut book and I know that the author will have a very lively writing carreer.
By : ELise Stokes

13 Shanghai Girls - Lisa See Shanghai Girls - Lisa See Product Image

A relevant tale of Chinese female friendship

14 Vampeen Chronicles - Christin Lovell

A new twist! It's not the everyday vampire story and I absolutely love the love triangle between the characters and Christin Lovell has some skills! Never seen anyone reading this and I always wonder why.
By : Christin Lovell

15 Flower Net - Lisa See Flower Net - Lisa See Product Image

The 1st in the Princess Mysteries trilogy

16 Psion Series - Jacob Gowans Psion Series - Jacob Gowans Product Image

Psion Beta, Gamma and Delta, I think are the best underrated series in the dystopian world. Even though I love Hunger games and Divergent, I can't resist the urge to list this one. Its action-packed, couple with romance, comedic and Sammy is witty even if he's a bit... Offensive sometimes

17 Artemis Fowl - Eoin Colfer Artemis Fowl - Eoin Colfer Product Image

A riveting sci fi series starring one of the smartest and most complex protagonists ever

18 Warrior Cats - Erin Hunter Warrior Cats - Erin Hunter Product Image

This is the best series ever. Diary of a wimpy kid IS wimpy. This is the best series I have read ever book two times or more. There is NOTHING better than this series. GO WARRIORS!

I hate that people judge it because it's about cats. This book series is amazing and better than Harry Potter or all of those other idiotic books that people seem to like, like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I swear, if you read this series, it'll change your life for the better.

You shouldn't judge a book by its cover. It may be about cats, but it has complex characters and made me cry once to be honest. My friends REFUSE to read it because of the cat part, but Warriors is an amazing series. Not the best, but it's up there on my favorite list.

I love this series. I could spend 10 hours going on how this is an amazing book series. I am rereading every single book.

19 The Valley of Amazement - Amy Tan The Valley of Amazement - Amy Tan Product Image

Tackles themes of Chinese female identity and sex

20 The Capture - Kathryn Lasky The Capture - Kathryn Lasky Product Image

An epic animal adventure in the vein of Warrior Cats and Silverwing

21 The City of Ember - Jeanne Duprau The City of Ember - Jeanne Duprau Product Image

A riveting post apocalyptic book

22 The Bad Beginning - Lemony Snicket The Bad Beginning - Lemony Snicket Product Image

I always loved the neo noir Gothic atmosphere

23 The Merchant of Death - D.J. Machale The Merchant of Death - D.J. Machale Product Image

A very exciting spacefaring adventure

24 The Field Guide - Holly Black The Field Guide - Holly Black Product Image

A short but enchanting fantasy adventure

25 The Akhenaten Adventure - Philip Kerr The Akhenaten Adventure - Philip Kerr Product Image

An exciting globetrotting adventure

8Load More
PSearch List