Top 10 Songs on Sodom's in the Sign of Evil / Obsessed by Cruelty

In the Sign of Evil was the debut EP by Sodom and Obsessed by Cruelty was the debut studio album by Sodom. Both if these albums were a part of the 1st wave of Black Metal and this was when they were a pure Blackened Speed/Thrash Metal band before they switched to their more well known Thrash style. These albums were originally separate releases but when Obsessed by Cruelty was reissued it included all the tracks from the In the Sign of Evil EP as bonus tracks.

There are actually two recorded versions of Obsessed by Cruelty because they had to rerecord the album because the record label was not happy with the end result. The first version was released through Metal Blade Records and was recorded in Berlin and released in the United States, while the 2nd version was released through Steamhammer records and was recorded in Nuremberg and was released in Sodom's home country Germany. According to Tom Angelripper, the second recording is "completely different" and features a bonus track named "After the Deluge". Destructor (Michael Wulf) played guitar on the first version, while Assator (Uwe Christophers) played on the second.

The album had a major influence on then-developing black metal. Mayhem founder and guitarist Euronymous described the early Sodom and Destruction releases as underrated "masterpieces of black stinking metal".

The Top Ten

1 Witching Metal UListen to Sample
2 Outbreak of Evil UListen to Sample
3 Obsessed by Cruelty UListen to Sample
4 Blasphemer UListen to Sample
5 Burst Command Til War UListen to Sample
6 Witchhammer UListen to Sample
7 Brandish the Sceptre UListen to Sample
8 Volcanic Slut UListen to Sample
9 Deathlike Silence UListen to Sample
10 Sepulchral Voice UListen to Sample

The Contenders

11 Fall of Majesty Town UListen to Sample
12 Proselytism Real UListen to Sample
13 Equinox UListen to Sample
14 Nuctemeron UListen to Sample
15 Pretenders to the Throne UListen to Sample
16 Burst Intro UListen to Sample
17 Burst Outro UListen to Sample
18 Intro (Obsessed by Cruelty) UListen to Sample
19 Intro (In the Sign of Evil) UListen to Sample
20 After the Deluge UListen to Sample
BAdd New Item