Best Songs on Soulfly's 3

3 is the 3rd studio album by Soulfly, The album was recorded at Chaton Studios in Phoenix, Arizona and was released on June 25th, 2002 through Roadrunner Records.This album was when Soulfly to start moving away from their Nu Metal sound and do more of a Thrash/Groove Metal sound while keeping world music influences.

Just like the last album it features a sequel to the self titled song which on this album is number 3 and again stylized in roman numerals.

The album artwork features an Om ( ॐ), a spiritual icon in Indian religions.

Both of the first two tracks were the only singles released from the album they were "Downstroy" and "Seek 'n' Strike."

"One" fuses growling vocals from Max Cavalera with gripping vocals from Ill Nino’s Christian Machado. The song uses this title as first word of the two word clauses per line: 'One soul / One heart / One man / One truth / One tribe / One life / One God'.

"L.O.T.M" (acronym for "Last of the Mohicans") is a Native American-themed metal song named after the 1826 novel of the same name.

"Brasil" is a Brazilian metal song, especially featuring berimbau, as well as several percussions performed by Cavalera. "Brasil" is about overcoming the poor government of Rio de Janeiro by praying the past.

"One Nation" plays a recorded pledge of allegiance to begin and end the song, since "One Nation" appears in pledge of allegiance. "One Nation" was originally recorded by Sacred Reich thus making this a cover.

"09-11-01" is a one-minute silence used for listeners to tribute to the victims of the September 11th, 2001 terrorism acts on the World Trade Center.

"Call to Arms" is about addressing the terrorists in a usual way.

"Tree of Pain" is noted for its ballad lasting about 2 minutes on both ends with typical metal riff with Cavalera's growls in the middle. This song tributes to Cavalera’s stepson Dana, who was killed.

"Zumbi" and "Soulfly III" are World Music songs.

and "Under the Sun" is a bonus track which is a cover of the Black Sabbath song, it was originally made for the Nativity in Black II album which was a tribute album to Black Sabbath.

Album Genres: Nu Metal, Groove Metal, World Music

Soulfly members:

Max Cavalera – lead vocals, 4-string guitar, berimbau, sitar, bass guitar on "I Will Refuse", percussions on "Brasil"

Marcello Dias – bass guitar, backing vocals, audio effects, percussion, drum programming on "One", sitar on "Tree Of Pain", keyboards on "Soulfly III"

Mikey Doling – guitar, percussion

Roy Mayorga – drums, percussion

The Top Ten Best Songs on Soulfly's 3

1 Seek 'N' Strike

This old one..never gets old. - Ananya

2 Tree of Pain
3 Under the Sun
4 Downstroy
5 Call to Arms
6 One Nation
7 L.O.T.M.
8 Four Elements
9 One
10 Brasil

The Contenders

11 Enterfaith
12 I Will Refuse
13 Soulfly III
14 9-11-01

This track is literally just silence... it's the only bad "song" on this album, I get that it's meant to be a tribute to those who lost their lives in the 9/11 terrorist attacks but they could have done something much better like what Iced Earth did with When the Eagles Cries. - christangrant

15 Sangue de Barrio
16 Zumbi
BAdd New Item