Top 10 Best Boxers of the 1990s

The Top Ten
1 Mike Tyson Michael Gerard Tyson (born June 30, 1966) is an American former professional boxer who competed from 1985 to 2005. He reigned as the undisputed world heavyweight champion and holds the record as the youngest boxer to win a heavyweight title at 20 years, four months and 22 days old.

The 1990s didn't start well for Tyson as he lost to journeyman Buster Douglas, who became an instant legend. Tyson, though, bounced back with wins over Alex Stewart and then those 2 bouts with Donovan "Razor" Ruddock, including the first one which I feel should have never been stopped too soon. Then came the comeback story. Say what you like, but Tyson came back in those 2 memorable years with titles aplenty and the massacre win over Peter McNeeley - still a great boxing moment.

Its Joeysworld

2 Evander Holyfield
3 Julio César Chávez
4 Roy Jones Jr. Roy Levesta Jones Jr. is an American former professional boxer, boxing commentator, boxing trainer, rapper, and actor who holds dual American and Russian citizenship.
5 Oscar de la Hoya Oscar De La Hoya is a former professional boxer who competed from 1992 to 2008. He holds dual American and Mexican citizenship.

Most fair fighter, never any problems to speak of.

6 Pernell Whitaker
7 Lennox Lewis
8 Marco Antonio Barrera
9 Chris Eubank
10 Bernard Hopkins

He was boxing's 3-decade wonder. It all began here, and on December 4, 1992, he knocked out Wayne Powell in the very first round to capture the IBF Middleweight Championship. He was 21-0 at the point and began a successful Hall of Fame career.

Its Joeysworld

The Contenders
11 James Toney
12 Félix Trinidad
13 Manny Pacquiao Emmanuel Dapidran Pacquiao is a Filipino professional boxer and politician, currently serving as a Senator of the Philippines. He currently ranks #4 in BoxRec's ranking of the greatest pound for pound boxers of all time.
14 Floyd Mayweather Jr. Floyd Joy Mayweather Jr. is an American former professional boxer and current boxing promoter.

"Pretty boy" Floyd or "Money" Mayweather is widely considered to be one of the greatest if not the greatest boxer in boxing history. Floyd Mayweather has had success not only inside the ring, but outside... read more

His boxing Hall of Fame career began in 1996, and what a beginning it was. In his first 12 bouts in 2 years, he won them all, and only 2 went the distance (Reggie Sanders and Larry O'Shields). It only set up a historic 1998 for him. After going 17-0, he got his first title shot against Genaro Hernandez for the WBC Super Featherweight Championship. He knocked Hernandez out in Round 8 to become the new champion. His victory capped a historic 1998 that earned Mayweather Jr. The Ring Magazine Fighter of the Year and the International Boxing Award Fighter of the Year.

Its Joeysworld.

15 George Foreman George Edward Foreman is an American former professional boxer who competed from 1969 to 1977, and from 1987 to 1997. Nicknamed "Big George", he is a two-time world heavyweight champion and an Olympic gold medalist.

I picked Foreman because of one unforgettable night in front of a global worldwide TV audience on November 4, 1994. On that night in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, he knocked out a very good fighter and a great champion in his own right, Michael Moorer, in Round 10 and became the WBA and IBF Heavyweight Champion at age 45. That bout would put him on the cover of Sports Illustrated.

Its Joeysworld

16 Antonio Tarver
17 Michael Moorer

Here's a guy who's underrated, but on April 22, 1994, he became a legend by defeating Evander Holyfield to become Heavyweight Champion. Moorer is also a class act and a nice guy.

It's Joeysworld

18 Virgil Hill

Virgil's boxing career consists of 2 reigns as WBA Light Heavyweight Champion and an IBF Light Heavyweight Champion. Among his victories in the 90s include 2 wins over Frank Tate, Tyrone Frazier, and a close win over Fabrice Tiozzo.

It's Joeysworld

19 Riddick Bowe

Bowe is a Hall of Fame boxer who is best remembered for his 3 bouts with Evander Holyfield. In this one, we focus on that Bowe-Holyfield first encounter. It was a great one as Holyfield failed to find the answer to Bowe's stronger and more aggressive punches. In the 11th round, it was Bowe's round as he hammered Holyfield. Then, a right hook knocked Holyfield down with a right hand to the side of the head. Bowe won a unanimous decision, and a new king was crowned.

Its Joeysworld

20 Terry Norris
21 Paulie Ayala
22 Tommy Morrison
23 Andrew Golota
24 Iran Barkley
25 Danny Romero
8Load More
PSearch List