Top 10 Songs on Obscura’s Omnivium

This is the third studio album by German death metal band Obscura, released in 2011. It debuted at #11 on the USA's Top Heatseekers chart.

This album contains more progressive death metal and less technical death metal than their previous album Cosmogenesis. Omnivium sounds darker yet softer because Obscura included more clean vox and acoustic sections but musicianship and virtuosity are over the top again.

Drummer usually keeps his blast beats at 240+ bpm but he hits the 260 bpm mark on some songs. Bassist provides an interesting sound and intricate bass lines with his fretless 6-string bass. Both guitarists use 7-string guitars and if you like sweep picking this is the right band for you.

Obscura found an interesting formula for a balanced sound that is heavy and beautiful at the same time - they make compex and technical yet melodic music (but without turning into melodic death metal).
If you like Crystal Mountain by Death (and anything by late proggie Death), you will probably like Obscura, too.

The album is based on Friedrich Schelling's "On Nature's Connection to the Spirit World".

Steffen Kummerer - guitar, vocals, lyrics
Christian Münzner - guitar
Jeroen Paul Thesseling - bass
Hannes Grossmann - drums

The Top Ten

Septuagint Septuagint Cover Art

Septuagint became one of Obscura's most popular songs. It's one of the softest songs on the album - it has soft melodic parts, long instrumental sections and sections with clean vocals.
There aren't bad songs on this album and it was difficult to rank the songs. I would easily change my mind about the song order.
(available on YT:
OBSCURA | "Septuagint" - Official Guitar Playthrough by Steffen Kummerer) - Metal_Treasure

Velocity Velocity Cover Art

A song with heavy and soft parts. Also a very interesting and long solo by a guest musician - Florian Magnus Maier a.k.a. Morean (3:15-4:33); the sound he gets after 4:10 is pretty unusual. - Metal_Treasure

Euclidean Elements Euclidean Elements Cover Art

Guest musician - Tommy Talamanca (guitar solo) - Metal_Treasure

Aevum Aevum Cover Art

Drummer Hannes Grossmann hits the 260 bpm mark. - Metal_Treasure

Celestial Spheres Celestial Spheres Cover Art

One of the softest and most beautiful songs on the album with an impressive solo (3:20). It's not very long (30 seconds) but is incredibly fluid. - Metal_Treasure

Vortex Omnivium Vortex Omnivium Cover Art

This is available on youtube:
Obscura | Vortex Omnivium - Official Guitar Playthrough by Steffen Kummerer & Christian Münzner - Metal_Treasure

A Transcendental Serenade A Transcendental Serenade Cover Art

This song is a "semi-instrumental" - there are only some background vocals for 1 minute at the end.
Drummer hits the 260 bpm mark again. - Metal_Treasure

Ocean Gateways Ocean Gateways Cover Art

Some of the sickest riffs in existence

Some of the most brutal growls by Steffen are on this song. - Metal_Treasure

Prismal Dawn Prismal Dawn Cover Art
Concerto Concerto Cover Art

This is a bonus track and is a Cacophony cover - originally a great neo-classical metal instrumental by Marty Friedman and Jason Becker. Obscura made it heavier, sounds awesome. - Metal_Treasure

BAdd New Item