Greatest Quarterbacks to Only Win One Super Bowl

In the history of the NFL, 34 quarterbacks have had the privilege of winning the Super Bowl. Of these, 13 have won multiple titles. However, 21 have managed to win just once.

Some had another opportunity to win but didn't succeed, while others were unable to make it back to the Super Bowl. These circumstances prevented them from joining the elite group of multiple-title winners.

Here are the top 10 quarterbacks who have won the Super Bowl only once.
The Top Ten
1 Aaron Rodgers Aaron Charles Rodgers is an American football quarterback for the Green Bay Packers of the National Football League.

Aaron Rodgers spent the first few seasons backing up Brett Favre. When he finally got his shot, Rodgers led the Packers to a Super Bowl XLV win, earning the game's MVP honor, which Favre didn't achieve. However, despite four MVPs and multiple Pro Bowls, Rodgers has not been back to the big game. Losses to the Giants, Cardinals, Seahawks, and Falcons have kept Rodgers from elevating himself to become one of the greatest.

2 Brett Favre Brett Lorenzo Favre is a former American football quarterback who spent the majority of his career with the Green Bay Packers of the National Football League.

Brett Favre is a three-time MVP who has made two Super Bowl appearances for the Packers in the 90s. While he won Super Bowl XXXI over the Patriots, Favre's bid for a second straight title came to an end at the expense of John Elway and the Broncos.

Over the rest of his career, the gunslinger came close to the Super Bowl twice, losing in 2007 to the Giants and in 2009 to the Saints. Perhaps if Favre had won a second title, he would have been considered a top-five quarterback.

3 Steve Young Jon Steven Young is a former professional American football quarterback who played 15 seasons in the National Football League and is best known for his 13 seasons with the San Francisco 49ers.

Although Young is considered a three-time Super Bowl champ, two of those were as a backup to Joe Montana and the 49ers. He finally got his chance to shine in Super Bowl XXIX when he broke the passing touchdown record in a single game to earn MVP honors.

Young could've elevated himself and his team even higher over the following years, but they ran into Brett Favre and the Packers. By the time they got by Green Bay, the 49ers lost to Atlanta in the 1998 Divisional Round. Young's career ended in 2000.

4 Drew Brees Drew Christopher Brees is an American football quarterback for the New Orleans Saints of the National Football League. He is the only player to have back to back to back 5,000 yards in three seasons straight. Brees also has the all time best completion percentage with 66.95%.

A beloved figure in New Orleans, Drew Brees led the Saints to their first and only Super Bowl title in 2009, just four years after Hurricane Katrina hit the SuperDome. Sadly, Brees would not see another Super Bowl berth, as heartbreaking late-game losses to the 49ers and Vikings, plus the controversial NFC Championship loss to the Rams and the Bountygate scandal, affected his chance of being a greater quarterback.

5 Ken Stabler Kenneth Michael "Ken" Stabler, nicknamed "Snake," was an American football quarterback in the National Football League for the Oakland Raiders, Houston Oilers and New Orleans Saints.

Ken Stabler won more games than any other quarterback during the 1970s as the Raiders were among the most feared teams in the NFL. Despite his success, he only made one Super Bowl appearance, which was a dominant 32-14 victory over the Vikings. Other chances to get a second ring were thwarted by the Dolphins and the Steelers.

6 Kurt Warner Kurtis Eugene "Kurt" Warner is a former American football quarterback, a current part-time TV football analyst, and a philanthropist.

A former grocery store worker who was cut by the Packers, Kurt Warner's Cinderella story in 1999 ended with him hoisting the Vince Lombardi Trophy for the Rams. Two years later, Warner's dream of being part of a dynasty came crashing down at the expense of a game-winning drive by a young Tom Brady.

Seven years would pass before Warner, now with the Cardinals, guided them to their first Super Bowl. But much like in 2001, it ended with an opposing game-winning drive, this time from Ben Roethlisberger and the Steelers.

7 Phil Simms

Phil Simms is a two-time Super Bowl winner. However, he is credited as being the winning starting quarterback in Super Bowl XXI, a game where he went 22-of-25 passing to claim the MVP and be the first athlete to say "I'm Going to Disney World." Simms was unable to start in Super Bowl XXV due to an injury, while his backup Jeff Hostetler took over and won them a title.

8 Joe Namath Joseph William Namath, nicknamed "Broadway Joe", is a former American football quarterback and actor.

Joe Namath is best remembered for guaranteeing a victory against the heavily favored Colts in Super Bowl III, which he and the Jets would deliver on. Over the next few years, despite earning a place in the Hall of Fame, Namath couldn't duplicate his success from 1968. In fact, some have said his guarantee was actually a curse and the reason why the Jets haven't returned to the Super Bowl.

9 Joe Flacco Joseph Vincent Flacco is an American football quarterback for the New York Jets of the National Football League.

Joe Flacco was among the top quarterbacks in the late 2000s and 2010s. After failing to reach the Super Bowl twice before, he and the Ravens got there in 2012, where he had a dominant MVP performance. Since then, Flacco's career has been on the decline, and though he won Comeback Player of the Year with the Browns, it's unlikely he will achieve his second Super Bowl ring.

10 Joe Theismann

Joe Theismann led the Redskins to a Super Bowl win in what was a shortened 1982 season. The following year, he guided them back to the Super Bowl with a then record-breaking offense while earning MVP honors. However, Washington was crushed by the Raiders, ending their chance at a repeat. Two seasons later, Theismann's career ended with a severe leg injury against the Giants.

The Contenders
11 Johnny Unitas John Constantine Unitas, nicknamed "Johnny U", or "The Golden Arm", was an American professional football player from the 1950s through the 1970s.
12 Matthew Stafford John Matthew Stafford is an American football quarterback for the Los Angeles Rams of the National Football League.

The #1 overall pick in 2009 selected by The Detroit Lions, Stafford has a critical acclaim in his stats.

Stafford is the fastest player in NFL history to reach 30,000 passing... read more
BAdd New Item