Best Songs on Motorhead's on Parole

On Parole is the first recording by Motorhead, It was recorded in September of 1975 and also from December 1975 to Febuary of 1976. It was originally intended for a 1976 release date, United Artists was not convinced of the album's commercial potential and did not want to release it at the time. It would remain unreleased for over three years until Motörhead had made a name for themselves with commercial success of their three previous albums, Motorhead, Overkill, and Bomber United Artists decided to cash in on this after the fact. As a result, it was not considered an official release by the band at the time and they did not want it released, as they had moved on, first to Chiswick Records and then Bronze Records, since then.

Motörhead signed with United Artists when Andrew Lauder, A&R man for Lemmy's old band Hawkwind, secured them a record deal. This is the only album to feature the band's original line-up of Lemmy on vocals and bass, Larry Wallis on guitar and vocals, and Lucas Fox on drums. During the sessions, original producer Dave Edmunds relinquished his duties, being replaced by Fritz Fryer. Drummer Fox was then replaced by Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor, a casual acquaintance of Lemmy's from the 'bikie' drug scene, who had been persuaded to drive him to Rockfield Studios and "bring his drum kit", as he had boasted to Lemmy that he played. Taylor then overdubbed all of Fox's tracks except for "Lost Johnny", as he was being held in custody following an arrest for alleged drunk-and-disorderly conduct when that session was due to take place, and the session time had run out by then.

"Fast" Eddie Clarke, who was the foreman on a houseboat painting job Phil had at the time, had said to him that he played guitar 'in some bands' previously, and was asked to come and try out for a second guitarist role. For whatever reasons, Larry Wallis, after trying the 4-piece line-up at rehearsals, decided to quit the band and move on. Thus the 'classic' line-up of Kilmister, Clarke, Taylor was born, though Eddie doesn't play on this album, it is nearly entirely re-recorded on the debut Chiswick Records album Motörhead in 1977 and is, as a result, a snapshot into how their, now famous, sound progression took.

Of the tracks, three ("Motörhead", "The Watcher" and "Lost Johnny") were re-recordings of songs Lemmy had written and recorded with Hawkwind, "City Kids" was a re-recording of a Wallis track co-written and recorded with The Pink Fairies, and "Leaving Here" was a cover version of a Holland-Dozier-Holland Motown song Lemmy had learned whilst a roadie for The Birds. On Parole was recorded and released by Larry Wallis, who was backed by two members of Eddie and the Hot Rods ; bassist Paul Gray, and drummer Steve Nicol as a b-side to the Stiff Records "Police Car" single in 1977, after this album had been recorded but prior to its release.

some of the songs from this album were rerecorded on the 1977 album Motorhead.

Genres: Rock and Roll, Hard Rock



Lemmy Kilmister – lead vocals, bass

Larry Wallis – guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Vibrator" & "Fools"

Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor – drums

Lucas Fox – drums on "Lost Johnny" & bonus tracks 10–13


Dave Edmunds – producer (tracks 10–13), engineer

The Top Ten

1 Motorhead Motorhead
2 Iron Horse / Born To Lose Iron Horse / Born To Lose
3 On Parole On Parole

I think this one is the best.

4 Lost Johnny
5 Vibrator
6 Leaving Here
7 City Kids
8 Fools
9 The Watcher
BAdd New Item