Top 10 Metal Albums of 2018 with High Ratings / Review Scores on Encyclopaedia Metallum (Metal Archives)

Metal_Treasure
By High Rating I mean over 70%.
How does the rating system of Encyclopaedia Metallum work? Users write reviews and rate the album (% /100). If an album has more than one review, for example, 2 reviews, where one gave 60% and the other - 80%, the average rating is 70%.

Not a prefect rating system but I've seen worse. In this system, the more reviews, the better, because the average rating gets more credible.
Review Scores are dynamic because every new review may change the average score. That's the reason my list is votable and not objective. I will post updates when I notice changes.

The Top Ten

1 Diluvium - Obscura

Strange and funny things in the reviews:
The guy who gave the lowest score (88%) explained why:
1) "No riffs"
LOL. There ARE riffs, as big as oak trees. I don't know why some people can't hear them :-)
2) "Minimal Death influence"
The guy means that Obscura are not influenced by the band Death anymore. Well, Obscura debut album was influenced by Death a lot but Diluvium is Obscura's 5th album and Obscura have been gradually developing their own style and sound. So how is this a bad thing? - Metal_Treasure

Avg. 92%, based on 4 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018 (review scores range from 88% to 95%). Update: Oct 7, 2018 - Avg. 92%, based on 5 reviews
My rating: 97%
genre: Progressive Death Metal, Technical Death Metal.
Lists to check out - Top 10 Songs On Obscura's Diluvium; Top 10 Best Things About Obscura's Diluvium - Metal_Treasure

2 Illusive Golden Age - Augury

Avg. 80%, as of Sept 15, 2018; based on 3 reviews (75%, 80%, 84%, respectively)
My rating: 93%
genre: Progressive Death Metal, Technical Death Metal.
List to check out - Best Songs On Augury's Illusive Golden Age - Metal_Treasure

3 The Outer Ones - Revocation

Avg. 100%, based on 1 review, as of Oct 7, 2018.
When I see 100% and 0% I'm always careful.
Update: Oct 25, 2018 - Avg. 80%, based on 3 reviews
My rating: 93%
Genre: Technical Death Metal
(a really great album flawed by deathcore guitar sound on the longest song - A Starless Darkness. It's beyond my understanding why a technical death metal would opt for such a generic and cheap sound. Moreover, on the album closer.
I made a list - Best Songs On Revocation's The Outer Ones) - Metal_Treasure

4 Ion - Portal

Avg. 94%, based on 5 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018
My rating: 90%
genre: Experimental Death Metal. - Metal_Treasure

5 Queen of Time - Amorphis

Avg. 96%, based on 2 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018. Update: 97% based on 3 reviews, as of Oct 7, 2018.
Update: Oct 15, 2018 - Avg. 97%, based on 3 reviews
My rating: 86%
Not higher because many songs include outright poppy sections and melodies but we all know metal bands shouldn't do this.
It's a very good album, I even made a list about it, but 96% is too high. I give over 90% for something that is more complex and harder to play, players show outstanding skills and virtuosity, albums offer something new, etc.
genre: Melodic Heavy Metal/Rock
List to check out - Best Songs On Amorphis' Queen of Time - Metal_Treasure

6 Firepower - Judas Priest

Avg. 85%, as of Sept 15, 2018, based on 18 reviews (the number of reviews is already something, I mean the % is more credible).
My rating: 85%
All my respect to Judas Priest.
genre: Traditional Metal, Hard Rock. - Metal_Treasure

7 Viktoria - Marduk

Avg. 91% based on 3 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018
genre: Black Metal - Metal_Treasure

8 Northern Chaos Gods - Immortal

Avg. 87%, based on 13 reviews as of Sept 15, 2018
Update: 86% based on 14 reviews, as of Oct 7, 2018.
My rating: 84%
genre: Black Metal - Metal_Treasure

9 The Wake - Voivod

Avg. 94%, based on 4 review, as of Oct 27, 2018. - Metal_Treasure

10 ├śmni - Angra

Avg. 91% based on 3 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018.
My rating: 75%
I think 91% is too high - it's standard power metal with Fabio Lione on vox, meaning the album sounds too poppy at times. - Metal_Treasure

The Contenders

11 Overtures Of Blasphemy - Deicide

Avg. 81% based on 1 review, as of Sept 15, 2018 (the album came out on Sept 14; more reviews will change the rating)
Update: 87% based on 5 reviews, as of Oct 27, 2018
genre: Death Metal. - Metal_Treasure

12 Liquid Anatomy - Alkaloid

83% based on 1 review, as of Sept 15, 2018.
My rating: 77% (vocals are the weakest part - with a different singer this album would get over 85% from me, like 89% or even 90%) - Metal_Treasure

13 Meditations - Kataklysm

Avg. 74%, based on 1 review, as of Oct 7, 2018.
genre: Melodic Death Metal
list on TTT - Best Songs on Kataklysm's Meditations - Metal_Treasure

14 Trident Wolf Eclipse - Watain

Avg. 72%, based on 6 reviews, as of Sept 15, 2018.
genre: Black Metal - Metal_Treasure

15 Apocalypse - Primal Fear

Avg. 78%, based on 3 reviews, as of Oct 7, 2018.
My rating: 70%
genre: Heavy Metal, Power Metal
I'm a fan of this band but I was slightly disappointed. They had better albums. - Metal_Treasure

BAdd New Item
P