Top 10 Best Attacking Cricketers of All Time

The beauty of cricket lies in its blend of strategy, skill, and sheer force of will. And no one embodies this more than the attacking cricketer, the player who seizes the initiative, takes the game by the scruff of the neck, and drives their team towards victory. Be it through blistering centuries, fiery five-wicket hauls, or game-changing performances in high-pressure situations, these cricketers have carved out a place for themselves in cricket folklore.

From the early days of Test cricket to the frenetic pace of today's T20 matches, the game has always celebrated its attacking players. Figures like Sir Vivian Richards, Adam Gilchrist, or Virender Sehwag, who've electrified the crowd with their aggressive batting, or fearsome bowlers like Wasim Akram, Dennis Lillee, or Glenn McGrath, whose deadly precision and ruthless attack could swing the game in their team's favor in a matter of overs. And let's not forget the all-rounders – those gifted few like Kapil Dev, Ian Botham, or Jacques Kallis, who could change the face of a match with both bat and ball.

Now, comes the big question: who are the best attacking cricketers of all time? It's a question that sparks animated debates among cricket lovers. Your answer could depend on a range of factors: the era in which you grew up watching cricket, the team you support, or the specific cricketing feats that left you in awe.
The Top Ten
1 Virender Sehwag Virender Sehwag is an Indian cricketer whose aggressive batting has found success at the top of the batting order.

One of the most dangerous cricketers. He had a knack for going aerial even in Test cricket.

He is the most attacking batsman.

He is the only player who has the best strike rate across all formats of cricket.

2 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Mahendra Singh Dhoni, commonly known as MS Dhoni, is an Indian international cricketer who captained the Indian national cricket team.

He has secured numerous victories for India and can be really attacking at times. He should be higher up on this list. He's a great captain too.

He is one of the match winners around the world.

3 Adam Gilchrist Adam Gilchrist is a retired international Australian batsman and wicketkeeper. He scored centuries 33 times in his career.

Why is he number three? And why is Sachin on the list? Sachin is a defensive player. Gilly should be number one. Though I am Indian, I say this. Sehwag always targets second-rate bowlers and has no class. He just uses brute force. Gilly has made centuries in the World Cup final against some of the best bowlers of the era. Sehwag looks for personal milestones, but Gilly is the Destroyer. Sehwag is just a fat kid with a bat.

Hits the ball like a powerhouse. He is the greatest hitter of all time. He has won two World Cup finals for Australia on his own!

4 Shahid Afridi

He has the highest strike rate and maximum sixes. He is a great attacking player.

5 Sachin Tendulkar Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar is a former Indian cricketer and captain, widely regarded as one of the greatest batsmen of all time.

The Master Blaster is the best batsman in the world. He should be at the top.

The master makes his entry here with his attacking batting.

6 Chris Gayle
7 AB de Villiers Abraham Benjamin de Villiers, commonly known as AB de Villiers, Mr. 360° or simply AB, is a South African cricketer.

I think AB de Villiers should be in the top five for his excellent batting skills, especially his reverse sweep against fast bowlers, which was a miracle. He hadn't gotten out for a duck until his 77th match.

AB is the most attacking player in the world. He made the fastest 100, which proves it.

8 Lasith Malinga

He is not fair. He is chucking and winning the leading wicket-taker awards. We always go against him. Bye.

9 Rohit Sharma Rohit Gurunath Sharma is an Indian international cricketer who plays for Mumbai in domestic cricket and captains Mumbai Indians.
10 Matthew Hayden
The Contenders
11 Viv Richards

Ask any other player in this list, and they will nominate Viv Richards.

12 Jonty Rhodes

No one can even imagine matching his attacking fielding skills.

13 Wasim Akram Wasim Akram is a Pakistani cricket commentator, coach and former cricketer, captain of Pakistan national cricket team.
14 Virat Kohli

He is the master of off-drive and cut shots. He also has the title of King of the Pop, Virat Kohli.

15 Kapil Dev
16 David Miller
17 Glenn Maxwell Glenn James Maxwell is an Australian cricketer who plays One Day International and Twenty 20 International matches for Australia.

Amazing striker of the ball. Anyone who has seen him play in IPL season 7 will agree with me. Here are his scores as an example: 95 off 43, 89, another 95 off 43, and 90 off 37.

Watching cricket can be boring, but not when Glenn Maxwell is playing.

18 Andre Russell
19 Shikhar Dhawan
20 Corey Anderson
21 Amit Mishra
22 Hardik Pandya
23 Sanath Jayasuriya

He is one of the greatest attacking cricketers of all time and the inventor of the modern power-hitting format. All of this happened back in 1996 when no one had thought about it. Since then, the tempo and pace of ODI cricket have begun to change. The first 15 overs were full of fours and sixes. He is a game changer!

24 Ian Botham Sir Ian Terence Botham is a former England Test cricketer and Test team captain, and current cricket commentator.
25 Ross Taylor
8Load More
PSearch List